top of page

Back from our cruise!


We had a wonderful time away on our cruise.  I love the sunshine and saltwater.  Something about the ocean that just love. 

Usually, we don't think about the food and what we will eat on a cruise.  I mean it's guaranteed you will have tons of food to eat.  I do however, take Miralax and Imodium along because I never know which way things are going to go. This cruise was going to be different for Kevin and I.  We both said if we wanted something that wasn't compliant then we would indulge without guilt.  I know that I assumed we would have decent options but I was so wrong.  I honestly wanted to stay on track to keep my gut happy.  Carnival does have a dessert that it so delicious, I knew ahead of time that I would order it at the sit down dinner.  (and I did!)  My plan was to enjoy the melting chocolate cake and keep the rest of my meals as healthy as I could. I won't bore you with our lackluster options.  Basically, the vegan option was Indian food which I don't mind but too much oil and salt for me. My hands and face puffed up along with an uncomfortable gut. They had a basic salad bar but kinda blah.  

Kevin decided to order prime rib one evening since the big kids with us said he was depriving himself.  Let's just say he said the next morning, no more beef.  

I do find it interesting that some tell us we should be eating what makes us happy.  I heard that a few times on our cruise.  Really?  I'm totally good with anyone that doesn't think this way of eating is for them.  We all have choices.  I would rather hear the strong opinions after some education about why this works and why we have changed.  Being healthy is what makes us happy.  

We didn't start off eating this way thinking it was fun.  After a short time, I realized that eating is fuel for survival.  We have all heard the "eat to live not live to eat".  It's so basic but very accurate.  I had been eating the wrong way for a long time.  How can you not help it?  Our way of life revolves around food in ways that are not for survival.  It's more about the satisfaction of taste and how you feel eating foods high in fat, salt or sugar.  

In 7 days, I gained 5 lbs.  I'm not happy about that but I know it will come off.  Think about that. That's crazy. 

It felt so good to have a big bowl of homemade vegetable soup for dinner yesterday.  I have already dropped some of the weight.  No doubt a lot of water weight. That says a lot to me. 


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page