top of page

Is this the end of eating out???

No way. 

It is getting easier to figure out what options will work best.  If I know where we are going then I check the menu online before we get there.  Is it better than cooking at home?  Nope. But it's better than nachos or wings, right?

I'll post a couple of examples of how I would order.  

I would order this and ask for no chicken, tortilla strips or avocado.  Might ask for margarita sauce on the side to dip my fork in.  But it comes with some juicy stuff on it so probably not inclined to use the sauce.  (item is from Chili's)

Chili's also offers sides that would work well. 

Black beans

Citrus-chile rice

Steamed broccoli 

Quinoa + wheatberry blend 

Watch for "roasted" on sides,that usually means oil. Steamed is best choice. 

Subway offers a veggie delite salad or sandwich.  Add some vinegar for flavor.  

I noticed some locations have a veggie patty. It is 18% fat which isn't bad but packs 800 mg of sodium.  I would pass on it myself and stick with veggies. 

I love a grainy bread with veggies.  

The problem I have with some of the fast food places is the sodium content. Unfortunately, it's common in a lot of food when you eat out.  Taco Bell does offer some halfway decent options in a pinch but ugh, sodium is so high. 

Order pizza with sauce, veggies and skip the cheese.  It is delicious especially if they use fresh ingredients.  

Back to menu reading...if you don't see something obvious to order, check the entrees.  We went to a place that really had no great options.  I saw there was vegetables on the entrees so I asked the server if the chef could make a pasta dish with vegetables and marinara.  We were accommodated with no trouble at all. 

I admit, I'm not one to throw a hissy if I need to pick croutons off my salad.  I have ordered a vegan tomato soup and scooped the cheese off the top.  I do scratch my head, vegan and cheese? I'm not sure I understand that.  

Even though it started off feeling complicated to change our way of eating.  It feels pretty simple now which works well for our life. 


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favotite PR Blogs
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page